Sarah MacDonald

House & Dog sitter for entire month in Charleston, SC

Want To Be Hired By Sarah? Apply Now


7

Home Owner in Charleston

We are a young family who have are traveling overseas for one month to share our newborn baby with our family in South Africa. We will need a house sitter and dog sitter to stay in our house while we are away for 4 weeks from Jan 29 to March 1st (give or take a day or two). You will not be alone! My Dad lives here too, and he had a stroke. He is 66 years old, handicapped on his left side but still manages to conversate very well and is mostly self reliant. You will NOT be responsible for his care. He will have his caregiver come to the house daily to ensure he is getting meals, taking his meds and showering. You will have to share the house but Dad will do his own thing and will not rely on you for care. (He also has a separate fridge, and he has his own bathroom) Our friends and neighbors will also come to the house to have meals with my father and keep him social while we are away. The dogs! :) These are your responsibility while we are away. They are our children and mean the world to us. Most people call them mini-pitts or pocket pitts or pittbull puppies... they are not. They are full bred staffies (ENGLISH staffordshire bull terriers). Phinda (don't pronounce the H), is a blue grey staffie, 30lb, 3 years old, pure girl, very athletic, loves to run and play with the ball, and is a snuggler. She is very attentive and will be the first to be there for hugs and comfort. She often is near Dad and our baby for "healing" - she helps keep everyone together. Chobe, is a brute - his name is pronounced exactly as it sounds, and he is just slightly bigger than Phinda at 45lbs. He is brindle with dark chocolate blacks and hazel tones to die for. He is the life of the party and really loves to be the center of attention. He is 18 months old. Both dogs tend to paw and jump still but they normally settle within a few minutes of you returning home. Chobe still has his puppy "grabbing" which can be taken for biting but he is gentle and just needs a stern direction to stop. They crave attention and will not want to be ignored - which is why I work from home sometimes and we often make plans as a family to take walks and go to the dog park. Typically there are no problems with chewing but we do keep all our belongings up off the floor so that Phinda is not tempted to take a shoe or pair of sunnies out to her "bank" in the backyard. If they do not get attention for days they will start chewing the furniture. We are looking for a solution on house sitters..... because our friend in the neighborhood recommended it. When we had one dog we were able to send her to a friend's house for the month when we last visited my husband's family. They were dog sitters. But now, we have two dogs and that is just too much. We feel it will be the best for the dogs to have some consistency at home for the whole month we are away. Adding my Dad to the mix does make this situation a little more odd than usual. We are happy to answer any questions. We will want to get to know you on skype and hear out any of your concerns and hesitations so that we can work through them in advance. Charleston is a fabulous city and we live 7-10 minutes from Folly Beach, and 15-20 minutes to downtown Charleston. I think restaurant week is on in January while we are away too! We also live in a neighborhood teeming with history - it was an old batteground - the battle of Secessionville. We have a complete fenced in yard front and back and they have dog doors to let themselves in and out. We feed them twice a day and would need them to be excercised on walks or taken to the nearby James Island County Park a couple times a week.

Home Owner Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com
Phone Number 843-735-...
Services

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This House Sitter Job