Profile photo

Mati R

Housesitter/Caretaker Needed to Manage Artsy, Eclectic Permaculture Homestead
Alturas, California
Last seen over a week ago
Pay negotiable

Want to be hired by Mati?

Apply Now

House Sitter Job in Alturas, California

Open to relocating to a small town (Alturas) in scenic northern CA for a while? Beautiful national forest town! Looking for a "housesitter plus" -- someone who can segue seamlessly between housesitting when I travel and assisting me when I am at home. I am an artsy single homeschooling Mom who sometimes travels for work and family but doesn't want her happy permaculture homestead go to seed when my 9 year old daughter and I are gone! I need someone to help take care of the property (3BR/2BA house on 2 acres with garden beds) and our beloved cats. However, I also need this help not just when I am gone traveling but when I am at home as well. This would be a great opportunity for either someone who wants to take some "time off" from the grind and really reduce their overhead on food and housing to pursue their own personal visions and passions for a while. Artists welcome! Permaculture geeks welcome! Journeymen or women wanting a stable place while they figure life out is A-Ok as long as you are helpful and like to be of service. An able-bodied semi retired or retired senior could also be great, as long as you can manage the physical work. As for myself: I am a published author, painter, previous performance artist (before motherhood), videographer, esthetician, and entrepreneur (have started and ran several businesses). I have slowed down substantially due to several car accidents and deciding to homeschool my daughter. The decision to leave Los Angeles for a much simpler life in Alturas has suited me well. I am charging $200/mo to cover all utilities and basic household expenses. You will have a private furnished bedroom and private bathroom that will be yours. When I am traveling, you will have the whole house to yourself and you get full run of the 1200 square foot house on 2 acres with great veggie gardens. I am happy to share what I have: use of the land if you are a permaculture enthusiast, and opportunity to create art in a supportive environment with possible resources for your use if you are the artsy type. There is also space to park an RV or travel trailer with hookups if you have one! If you are mechanically handy, I have some old campers and vehicles you could use if you want to put the elbow grease to bring them back to life. When I am traveling, housesitter duties include house maintenance, property management, pet care (looking after my cats), mail sorting/forwarding, and looking after the vegetable garden and lawn. Also potentially help with organizing. Since the house in an eclectic early 1900s structure, someone who is handy would be a real blessing, to assist with repairs. When I am NOT traveling and am at home, then assistance broadens out to potentially include home sharing duties that are mutually agreed upon. It is essential that you like kids... since my daughter is my #1 priority and I want her to feel that she is worthy of any housemate's respect and attention. I am looking for a good fit and someone who can extend energy and support in a positive responsible way. Really want someone who values the importance of home! Please no smokers... I have COPD. Grounded, values-oriented people encouraged to apply! If you like to be a blessing where you are planted, this is definitely an opportunity to minister and really make a difference in someone's life, by helping us to keep our beloved homestead cared for. I am definitely looking for a community-minded person to not just housesit when I am gone but who can live consciously with my daughter and I when we are at home, and can help me to feel cared for as well. As a single Mom, I have a lot to handle! I would really like a $500 deposit if you can swing it just to give me peace of mind for any damages that could be potentially incurred. Ideally, I would like a stable, long-term arrangement. This is my "home base" that is very emotionally important to me but I need to take steps to find a partner in property management to keep it going. If you are interested in exploring this further let me know! Please note that I am ideally looking for long term…. it is for a real partner in homesteading and pet care. However, if the right person reads this ad and can't commit to long term but feels this is something they would be excited to do for a specified period, I am open to discussing it.

Services Needed

Your responsibilities will include:
Mail collection
Pet feeding
Plant care
Garbage/recycling

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Mati?

Apply Now
Find House Sitting Jobs in Alturas, California
More jobs in Alturas, California

Want to be hired by Mati?

Apply Now

Contact

1100-119 Spadina Ave

Toronto, On

M5V2L1