Amber R

Professional couple with extensive farm and animal care experience available to housesit

Want To Connect With Amber? Get Started Now

House Sitter in Hilo

My husband and I fell in love with the Big Island when we first visited in 2015. It perfectly combines our love of the country and the ocean. We both grew up on farms, myself in rural North Carolina, and my husband in the Azores Islands. Our Bay Area home is a small urban farm, including 2 dogs, 2 cats, a 20-year-old turtle, 5 chickens, 9 ducks and a garden. We also have extensive experience taking care of goats, cows, and pigs. Luckily, my parents have moved to the Bay, so we have built-in house sitters to watch our critters while we are away. For the last 10 years, we have run a nonprofit organization that provides support, job-training, and outdoor experiences for low-income youth. I am the Executive Director, and my husband is the Boatbuilding/Woodworking Program Director. For more information on what we do, check out our website: We love what we do, but since we both grew up in the country and love the ocean, we need to get out of the City for at least a month every year. Because we work for ourselves, our travel schedule is quite flexible with enough heads up. Ideally, we are looking for housesits ranging from 2 weeks to a month. We both dream of a day when we will move out of the City (maybe to the Big Island!) and get back to farming. But in the mean time, we would love to come spend some time looking after your animals so you can travel too. We are currently considering traveling to the Big Island over the holidays this year, but we are flexible if the right opportunity comes along.

House Sitter Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 336-688-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 20
Provider Type Individuals


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile