Dena Rutherfurd

Professional young woman, seasonal worker/traveler

House Sitter in Manhattan

Hello. My name is Dena. I am a 38 year old single, professional female. I am a licensed cosmetologist, working and living in New York for just over 6 years. This past June my darling cat, Eugene, died after 17 years of giving me a great kitty havin life. Since he is no longer my sidekick, I am free to become a sort of vagabond, which is something I've always dreamt of. I am originally from the west coast of northern Nevada, the foothills of Lake Tahoe. I moved to New York to expand my horizons with the intention of staying only 5 years and then heading south, to beachy paradises. Once the 5 years were up I realized that I needed to stay still a while longer, knowing little Geno's life was coming to an end. He went much sooner than I anticipated. I love my job as a hairstylist in NY, where I plan to keep my salon job during the springtime and holiday season. I love Lake Tahoe in the summers(plus my family is there) and will be in hot pursuit of beachy paradise during the harshest winter months. So I'm liquidating all of my possessions and chasing the dream. Lining up work during each season and hoping to get involved with house and pet sitting, not only as a way to save money but also give all the love I have for and in memory of Eugene the kitty machine, to as many pets as possible. I think I am partial to cats but I absolutely love dogs SO much! I love all animals really. I plan to go back to university sometime in my middle 40's to pursue a degree in something. I decided long ago(when my life's plan revealed itself to me and I knew that it was all up to me to manifest) that I would decide my major once I was there because I would have a better idea by then of what I want to pursue. During the end of Eugene's life we dealt with cancer lumps. What to do, how to do it, etc. I didn't have a regular vet for him out here so I struggled with finding a good one.. I think that may be something I'll like to study just so I could be the vet I was looking for. That or a midwife, as I also love babies and it's possible I may never have my own. When midwifery was the mainstream, they did also groom the whole families hair as well as provide healthcare. I think either could be perfect for me. Anyway. I still have 3 to 5 years of traveling around to accomplish before choosing which major to pursue. I hope to be considered a great house/pet sitter by and for you. I am available November 1-5 of 2014 and December 1-jan 2 2015. Thank you for reading my profile.

House Sitter Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 775-229-... Confirmed
Zip Code 10038
Years of Experience 20
Provider Type Individuals
Services Collect Mail
Feed Pets
Care For Plants
Take Out Trash/Recycling
Snow Clearing


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This House Sitter